Host an Event


Does your group have an idea for encouraging folks to use more active transportation? Ideas might include:
FOR ANY ORGANIZATION

• Host a breakfast/lunch/snack station
• Kayak to grocery shopping
• Trail run to work
• Organize a hill climb (e.g. hill climb on School Road in Gibsons) • Organize a race or time trial • Hold a Bikes against the Bus challenge
• Organize a walking school bus trip (a group of students walk together for all or part of a bus trip) • Hold a Kindergarten bike decorating event
• Sponsor a pedestrian safety training session
• Offer a bike maintenance class
• Organize rides to ice cream parlour/coffee shop/bakery • Hold a Night Ride
• Breweries/Cideries/Distilleries by Bus tour
• Organize a “Drive a (empty) School Bus” experience
• Organize a ride-share week
• Publish Instagram business photos
• Hold a Run to Rec (Centre) challenge
• Stand Up Paddleboard to Work
• Host a party to celebrate active transportation
• Organize Noon Hour Walks
• Hold an Electric Bike Show and Demonstration
• Organize a Seniors bicycle ride
• Organize a club run for your organization or club
• Use public transit to offer informative tours of the Sunshine Coast • Provide musical entertainment on public buses
• Organize a Parent/Tot stroller walking tour
• Organize a Mobility Scooter meet-up

FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENTS

• Create a Pop Up Bike Lane
• Create a temporary car free zone
• SCRD v Gibsons v Sechelt active transportation staff/council/board challenge • Make an official declaration of Active Transportation Month! 

If you’re interested in hosting an event, see our call for action and join the movement.

Organizations wishing to sponsor or host an Active Transportation Month event are encouraged to contact one of the organizers below to discuss what their organization might do.
Chris Morse (chris.Morse@vch.ca)
Dave Hawkins (dave@hawkins.ca)
Eric Pinfold (eric@phitted.com)
Kylie Hutchinson (kylieh@communitysolutions.ca)
Marina Stjepovic (marinastjepovic@hotmail.com)
Mark Lebbell (mlebbell@hotmail.com)
Mark Wilson (markw@pshhc.org)
Martin Prestage (martin@upthecreek.ca)
Norma Brow (nbrow61@gmail.com)